Irish Cream Gluten-Free Pear Crisp For Two

Dec 10, 2010 by

I like booze. I like fruit. Why should they not marry more often?

A friend on Twitter asked me the other day if I knew of any grain/gluten-free crisp recipes off-hand. I referred her to Elana’s Pantry who has an amazing pear crisp recipe in The Gluten-Free Almond Flour Cookbook. I also told her if she gave me a week, I’d give her a unique recipe.

And I’m a woman of my word. Hiccup.

I’m  not sure where this idea came from. I think I was in the pantry getting bay leafs for the chicken stock when I saw the Baileys and decided I wanted a small glass on the rocks. And then I was in the kitchen looking at the fruit bowl and the pear that had about 4 more minutes of life left. And then in literally 10 minutes, I made this. It’s so quick and so easy.

It is one of the most delicious things I’ve had in a long time and contains no grain, no refined sugar (and only a touch of honey), and only a tiny bit of Irish Cream. I had three bites and had to walk away. Of course, though all-natural this is a special treat and I only made a small little dish; hence the “for two.” If you want to make a bigger batch, just multiply the ingredients up. (E-mail me if you need help.)

Peel and slice the pear in half. Using a large spoon, simply scoop out the core.

Cut into small chunks

All ingredients in the pot!

Pulse nuts, flour, and cinnamon until "crumb-like"

Melted butter added slowly until moist but still crumbly

Filling reduced to thick liquid and poured in a small baking dish

Broiled briefly to crispify the top

You didn't hear this from me but this may or may not be delicious with a little bit of ice cream or whipped cream

*Note: There’s been some discussion on whether or not Bailey’s is gluten-free. Bailey’s released this statement which seems to me like a blanket CYA (cover your ass) statement:

“Please be advised that the whiskey used in Baileys® is manufactured by fermenting grain which contains Gluten. Due to the presence of gluten in the whiskey components before distillation we cannot absolutely guarantee that there are no effects to coeliacs. As we are not qualified to give medical advice persons requiring a gluten free diet should consult their medical adviser before consuming Baileys®.”

However, if the only potential source of gluten comes from the whiskey, the Celiac Association says this:

“ADA guidelines indicate that all 100% distilled spirits are safe, including Whiskey, bourbon and gin”

Here is a total list of gluten-free alcohol for those interested.

Here’s my CYA statment: if you are Celiac and gluten-free and concerned about the use of Baileys, skip it. Sub cream and vanilla in place of the Baileys.

Print Friendly


  1. Anita

    Have been following your blog since Bodies..

    I really like your way of writing and am intrigued by the Primal diet..However I have a few questions
    1. Can a vegetarian follow a primal diet? I am an Indian and have been vegetarian since birth.
    2. I cook everyday and don’t use any processed food but use wheat and rice and also use sugar..butt Iam at a loss as to how to follow this lifestyle if I don’t eat meat!

  2. The recipe looks great!

  3. OMG – crisps of ANY kind are my favorite!!! I will be making this immediately. MWAH!

  4. Jan

    Holy schmoly – fruit crisps are back on the menu!! I see ALL sorts of possible variations…

  5. I just emailed Baileys to see if I can get any more information out of them. If the issue is the whiskey, and it is distilled, then Baileys should be gluten free. If the issue is something they add after the fact, then no, us Celiacs should not consume Baileys. Either way, I do believe there are other gluten free Irish Cream liquors on the market.

  6. So the response email I got from Baileys was the stock response they already have on their website. I emailed back asking for clarification, is the issue gluten before distillation (which would render it gluten free), or addition of gluten afterward. Their response: “In regard to your inquiry, please note that if you have an allergy to gluten we would not recommend consuming the product as Baileys is not gluten free. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience this may cause. “

  7. JAV

    I made this recipe this weekend for two people who eat sugar and wheat gluten all of the time. They loved this, saying “this is healthy?!” with pleasant surprise because it was so tastey.

  8. Barbara

    Can you give me the recipe changes for 6 people?

  9. Mary

    I made this tonight, and it was absolutely delicious!!


  1. Gluten Free and Vegan Apple Blackberry Crisp | Elana's Pantry - [...] are some more fruit dessert recipes you may like from other food bloggers: -Irish Cream Gluten-Free Pear Crisp For…
  2. Apple Blackberry Crisp | Elana's Pantry - […] are some more fruit dessert recipes you may like from other food bloggers: -Irish Cream Gluten-Free Pear Crisp For…

Leave a Comment

Notify me of followup comments via e-mail. You can also subscribe without commenting.